DCC fall at final hurdle as Cane Farm lift UWI T20 UNICOM trophy

first_imgBy Brij ParasnathGUYANA’S Gajanand Singh impressed again with an attractive 64 runs and copped the Player-of-the-Series award but Cane Farm Sports Club lifted the UWI UNICOM T20 crown when they overpowered Demerara Cricket Club (DCC) by 67 runs in the grand final contested under floodlights at the Sir Frank Worrell ground, St Augustine campus on Sunday night.DCC fell at the final hurdle when their frontline bowlers Keemo Paul, Ashmead Nedd and Singh were put to the sword by West Indies ODI and T20 opener Evin Lewis.Carnival is four weeks away but Lewis added some real Trinidadian tempo and immediately stamped his authority on the proceedings when Cane Farm were asked to take first strike, after DCC captain Derwin Christian won his fifth consecutive toss and asked his opponents to face some music.Left-handed Lewis went on the rampage from the very first ball delivered by Paul as he smashed it for a blistering boundary to open the floodgates for boundaries and sixes galore that had the appreciative crowd of over 3 000 spectators enjoying the batting fireworks on display. The attacking left-hander added another powerful boundary followed by a mighty six in the first over.Surprisingly, Gajanand Singh with his gentle off-spinners was given the second over and he was warmly greeted with four towering sixes off his first five balls. Only the fourth and sixth were not dumped outside the playing area.Sharfane Rutherford replaced Paul and he brought joy to DCC supporters when he removed Imran Khan with the third delivery of his first over. But he did not escape punishment as Lewis added a double and a four off the final two deliveries of the third over.Kellon Carmichael briefly stalled the batting momentum and bowled a maiden over to Lendl Simmons. But Lewis soon was on the charge again in the very next over bowled by left-arm spinner Ashmead Nedd, whose deliveries were belted out of the playing area for four more massive sixes off the his first five balls.Lewis had already raced past his fifty off 18 deliveries and counted five sixes and five fours. He blasted two more sixes and departed for a hurricane 90 with ten sixes and six fours off 35 deliveries.The pulsating batting waned following Lewis’ exit. But it quickly picked up momentum when burly Roshon Primus joined skipper Denesh Ramdin and together they put on another fine exhibition of power-hitting.Primus took the leading role and slammed a quick-fire 43 that contained three sixes and four fours off 18 balls while Ramdin blazed four fours and a six for his 23 runs. Simmons hit three fours in his 26 made off 27 balls.Cane Farm amassed 217 for 6 in their allotted 20 overs while DCC folded for 150 all out in 17.1 overs.While wickets tumbled at regular intervals around him, the pugnacious leftie blazed to 64 with the aid of two sixes and ten elegant fours and took his overall tournament aggregate to 327 for an amazing average of 327.Carmichael and Paul raised hopes of helping Singh to carry DCC as close as possible to Cane Farm’s challenging total but they perished through reckless strokeplay. Carmichael made 34 while Paul was smartly stumped by Ramdin off Imran Khan for 25.Paul delighted the crowd with three huge sixes off Khan who deceived him with the doosra that had him groping down the track as Ramdin had the bails off in a flash to end DCC’s chances of a rear-guard fightback.Gajanand, who batted throughout the series with a troubled right shoulder and injured left elbow on his strong hand, sought to up the scoring rate but perished when he was brilliantly caught by Rayad Emrit at extra cover off Primus who demolished the lower batting order to give Cane Farm an impressive victory over the Guyanese team.Primus finished with four for 39 from four overs and collected the Man-of-the-Match award while Ravi Rampaul (2 for 19 from 3.1 overs) and Khan (2 for 34 from 4 overs) helped in the demolition of DCC, who collected the runner-up prize of TT$20 000.Cane Farm Sports Club captain Denesh Ramdin received the champions’ prize of TT$40 000 and the Challenge Trophy.last_img read more